Common characteristics of a typical superhero: Leading double lives.

In the modern age, anyone with a computer and an internet access can do the same!
Minus the spandex, or the heavy armor, that is.

With every website or game that requires one to register a new account with them, anyone can assume a pseudo identity…not that it’s just restricted to one for every site/game.
Take this blog (and my personal one) for example.
Online, I use the alias ‘MavericK’ for myself. There is no particular meaning to this alias; I just found the word nice, and it starts with ‘M’! 😀 This is an alias I adopt in the virtual world, although it is more of an alternate name rather than an alternate identity for myself.

Back in secondary school, together with a group of friends, we played a prank on our fellow classmates by sharing a pseudo identity on MSN, and taking turns assuming this persona, we would then irritate our classmates on MSN with ambiguous messages while creating alibis for one another. And no, we never went over the line…just enjoyed the discussions back in class about this mysterious figure, while playing the fool. 😛
(Think we used the alias of ‘Kyo Kusanagi’…if this was done now, everyone would have guessed it’s me~)

Thinking back, the above example can be used to illustrate how the internet can be manipulated to ‘manipulate’ people, though on a much smaller scale. Expand it further, and it will become one of the many frauds we hear of, and perhaps…if you’re THAT ‘suay’, encounter all the time.

Then there is also the case of gender-bending.
This is especially rampant in MMORPGs (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Games). One classic example, the World of Warcraft. I have many male riends who are into this game, and many times I see them using female characters instead. When I asked them for the reason…:

“I dun wanna spend hours playing the game, while staring at the ass of a man.”
O_o

A valid point, nevertheless.
But for me, I’m very sexist when it comes to games…unfortunately. 😀

Once again, the case of gender-bending can lead to fraud and scams on the internet.
Seems like the negative aspects of the internet always will have something to do with online scams and such, doesn’t it?